Home » Board of Elections » How to Register

 

To register to vote in this State, a person must sign a voter declaration attesting that:

 

  • I am a U.S. citizen.
  • I will have been a resident of North Carolina and this county for 30 days before the election.
  • I will be at least 18 years old by the next general election.
  • I am not registered nor will I vote in any other county or state.
  • If I have been convicted of a felony, my rights of citizenship have been restored. 

You can register to vote at any of the following agencies while conducting business there:

 

Work First

Women, Infants and Children (WIC)

Food Stamps

Medicaid

Services for the Blind

Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services

Vocational Rehabilitation

Governor's Advocacy Council for Persons with Disabilities

Employment Security Commission

 

The driver's license examination offices, located throughout the State, have conducted a successful voter registration program since 1984. A person may complete a voter registration transaction at any driver's license examination office when conducting official DMV business with that office (applying for or renewing a driver's license, I.D. card, etc.).

 

North Carolina has made available mail-in voter registration forms through the county boards of elections offices. Those offices, in turn, have distributed the mail-in voter registration forms to numerous visible locations throughout the counties. This form is self-explanatory and can be easily completed. The completed forms should be mailed directly to the appropriate county board of elections. Contact our office to receive a form in the mail or print one out from this website (click link below).

 

Voter registration forms

 

North Carolina has mail-in voter registration forms available through public libraries and high schools. These locations do not accept the forms for the county board of elections office. Forms may be obtained at these locations, completed, and mailed to the appropriate county board of elections office.

 

The deadline to register to vote in this State is 25 days before the day of the election. Forms that are received by the county board of elections office or postmarked by the deadline are accepted as valid applications for the upcoming election. Also, agency and DMV voter registration transactions that are completed by the deadline are accepted as valid for the upcoming election. Applicants will be notified by the county board of elections of their precinct and polling place assignments.