Lisa A. Smith
Clerk of Superior Court
Location address:
229 N Main St
PO Box 630
Rutherfordton, NC 28139
Office Phone:
Hours: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Fax: (828) 288-6101
Jury Line: 828-288-6105


Home » Departments » Clerk of Court

Rutherford County Clerk of Superior Court

Robynn Spence, Clerk of Superior Court

In Memory of Robynn Spence
June 15, 1967 - February 16, 2014


Ø  Robynn L. Spence began working with the North Carolina court system in 1990.  She was elected as the Rutherford County Clerk of Superior Court and has served the citizens in that capacity since December, 2008.  Quoting District Court Judge Laura Powell,
"Robynn had a personallity larger than life". 
She will be deeply missed and we thank her for her life long dedication to the citizens of Rutherford County, her family, and her friends.

On February 28, 2014, Senior Resident Superior Court Judge J. Thomas Davis appointed Lisa A. Smith as the Clerk of Rutherford County to serve until a Clerk of Superior Court is duly elected and sworn as provided by law.  Rutherford County shall elect a Clerk of Court on November 4, 2014 and that person shall be sworn in on December 1st, 2014.


         The Clerk of Court is responsible for all administrative, clerical and record-keeping functions of the District and Superior Court. The Clerk of Superior Court and all Assistant and Deputy Clerks of Superior Court are not allowed to practice law or give legal advice.  Therefore, you should not ask the Clerk or the Clerk’s staff to fill out any forms or to advise you on the completion of forms or any legal issue.  Many forms and online services are available at including court calendars and payment of traffic ticket fines.   You should consult an attorney or any legal aid service for any legal advice.   Pisgah Legal Services does provide services to Rutherford County Citizens on limited matters and they can be reached at 1-800-489-6144 or 828-247-0297.



 Links of Interest: 

North Carolina Court System

Court Calendar Search

Pay Tickets

Passport Information



 Superior Court Judge    
Office Phone:

J. Thomas Davis,

Superior Court Judge

Cynthia Wharton,

Superior Court Judicial Assistant

Miriam (Myra) Cantrell,

Superior Court Judicial Assistant

District Court Judges      
Office Phone:

C. Randy Pool,

Chief District Court Judge

Laura A. Powell

Robert K. Martelle

Elizabeth Hamrick,

District Court Judicial Assistant


Official Court Reporter Office Phone: Fax:
Leanna Lynch 828-288-6116 828-288-6117



District Attorney Office Phone: Fax:
Brad Greenway 828-288-6110 828-288-6111



Guardian ad Litem Office Phone: Fax:

Charity Robinson,

Program Supervisor

828-287-3829 828-288-9134



Juror Answering Machine - After Hours Office Number: 828-288-6105


Magistrates - Rutherfordton   Office Phone: 828-288-6119
Sarah Owens Rick Gilbert Brett Hooper
Denise Gardner Brian Smith Anne Ware
Magistrate Hours: 8:30 am - 4:00 pm Courthouse
  4:00 pm - 8:30 am Rutherford County Jail