Home » Departments » Tourism Development Authority

Mission Statement: To promote the growth of tourism for and in Rutherford County, in accordance with NC Session Law 2011-115.


Visit the TDA Website!

RUTHERFORD COUNTY TOURISM COFFEE ROUNDTABLE -Rutherfordton Town Hall February 11, 2015 (click here)



TDA Legislation (NC Session Law 2011-115)

 TDA ByLaws (Adopted December 8, 2011)


Please click on the link below to view the following: 2014 Tourism Development Authority Annual Report, Rutherford county Wayfinding Master Plan, and The Game Changer event.



To view information about the 2015-2016 budget go to:

2015 Strategic Plan and Marketing Plan

2015-2016 Budget and Background



Executive Director: (email)


2015-2016 TDA Board Meetings:

All Board Meetings are held in the Bechtler House* conference room at 12:00 noon unless otherwise noted.

July 30th, 2015 - Cancelled

September 10th, 2015- Rescheduled for September 16th, 2015 at 12 noon.

October 22nd, 2015

December 3rd, 2015

January 14th, 2016

February 25th, 2016

March 17th, 2016 (board retreat)

April 7th, 2016

May 5th, 2016

June 2nd, 2016

June 16th, 2016 (notice of public hearing)


2015-2016 TDA Board Members:

Richard Lundy (Chair)

Dawn Hemmelgarn (1st Vice Chair)

Don Cason (2nd Vice Chair)

Diane Barrett (Secretary)

Amy Bridges

Barbara Meliski

Dave Long

Jeff Bradley

Tammy Martell

Willard Whitson



RCTDA  Executive Committee:

Richard Lundy: Board Chair

Dawn Hemmelgarn: 1st Vice Chair

Don Cason: 2nd Vice Chair

Meetings are held at 8:00am at the Bechtler House Office* unless otherwise noted.

July 23rd, 2015

September 3rd, 2015

October 14th, 2015 - 10am

October 27th, 2015 - 11am

December 11th, 2015 - 1pm at Rumbling Bald Resort

January 12th, 2016 - 9:30 am at  Bechtler House

January 20th 2016, 11:00 am at The Esmeralda Inn in Chimney Rock (cancelled due to inclement weather)

February 18th, 2016

March 10th, 2016

March 31st, 2016

April 28th, 2016

May 26th, 2016



RCTDA Finance Committee:

Finance Committee Chair: Don Cason

Taylor Hardin: Administrative Assistant (TDA)

Paula Roach: Finance Director/Rutherford County 

Willard Whitson: Board Member


VIN/Information Committee:

Information Committee Chair: Dawn Hemmelgarn

Tammy Martell- Board member

Wesley Alexander- Information Services Director (TDA)

Karen Tegen- Project Manager (TDA)


Meeting Dates:

December 29th, 8:00 a.m. The Bechtler House Office*


VIN/Wayfinding Committee:

TDA Executive Director

Mark Teague

Kristy Carter

Laura Greene

Amy Bridges

Barbara Meliski


Meetings are held at 1:00 p.m. at the Bechtler House in Rutherfordton.

July 15, 2015-Cancelled

August 19, 2015-Cancelled

September 16, 2015-Rescheduled September 30, 2015

October 21, 2015

November 18, 2015

December-No Meeting

January 20th, 2016

February 17th, 2016

March 16th, 2016

April 20th, 2016

May 18th, 2016

June 15th, 2016


Visitor Information Network Wayfinding Master Plan 

Static Sign Progress Map:



Director Search Committee:

Board Chair: Richard Lundy

Karen Tegen: Project Manager

Barbara Meliski: Board Member

Tammy Martell: Board Member


February 5th, 2016: 9:30 am - Bechtler House


 Questions about Occupancy Taxes?

Please contact Jeanette Bosgra at the Rutherford County Finance office. (828) 287-6211



*Bechtler House Office

Location: 130 West 6th Street, Rutherfordton, NC 28139

Phone: (828) 287-6013


Rutherford County Welcome Center 

Location: 2932 Memorial Hwy., Lake Lure, NC 28746

Phone: (828) 287-6113


 To view approved TDA minutes, Strategic Goals, Work Plans and Budget; as well as, a list of TDA Board members please see the sidebar listing to the left.





Like us on Facebook