Rutherford County Soil and Water Conservation District

Rutherford County Soil and Water Conservation District

Location: 500 West Street, Spindale, NC 28160

Office: (828) 287-4220 Ext 3
Fax: (828) 288-4012
Office Hours:
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Monday thru Friday

The Rutherford County Soil and Water Conservation District have three agencies working together as a partnership to assist with agricultural conservation needs.

The NC Agriculture Cost Share Program (ACSP) primarily addresses agriculture’s contribution to Non-Point Source (NPS) pollution by encouraging voluntary participation by the agricultural community. This approach is supported by financial incentives, technical and educational assistance, research, and regulatory programs. Best Management Practices (BMP’s) that are supported by the ACSP include vegetative, structural, and/or management systems that can improve the efficiency of farming operations while reducing the potential for surface and ground water pollution. The Division of Soil and Water (DSWC) implements the ACSP.

The Natural Resource Conservation Service (NRCS) and the Farm Service Agency (FSA) are a federally run programs that also help the agricultural community.

  • Brandon Higgins : Resource Conservation Administrator 
  • Kayla Upton:  Administrative / Education Specialist 
  • Mike Sigmon : NRCS Supervisory Soil Conservationist 
  • Austin Street: Soil Conservationist
  • Tramell Forney : Soil Conservationist 
State Programs

NC AG Cost Share Program
NC Agriculture Water Resources Assistance Program

NC Community Conservation Assistance Program 
Federal Programs
NC Natural Resource Conservation Service
NC Farm Service Agency: (828)287-4220 Ext. 2
Helpful links
NC Cooperative Extension: (828)287-6010
Soil Testing
Web Soil Survey
NC Association of Soil & Water Conservation Districts