Board of Elections

Board of Elections

Hours Monday-Friday
8:30 - 5:00

Physical Address:
298 Fairground Road Spindale, 
NC 28160

Mailing Address:
PO Box 927 Rutherfordton, 
NC 28139

(828)287-6140 Fax

Dawn Lovelace

Board Members:
Frances Lockwood, Chairperson
Angela Plackis, Secretary
Hannah Smith
Linda Smith
Georgia Steele

The Rutherford County Board of Elections is the county
agency charged with overall responsibility for
administration of the elections process and campaign
finance disclosure in Rutherford County.
We hope you find this site contains useful information that helps
you take a more informed role in the voting process.

Video on Voter ID
Voter ID Information in NC

Voter ID FAQ

Rutherford County Municipal Elections Moved to Even-Numbered Years

Senate Bill 265 will do the following:
Change the time of elections for the municipalities of Bostic, Chimney Rock, Ellenboro, Forest City, Lake Lure, Ruth, Rutherfordton, and Spindale to even-years, beginning in 2024.
This Bill will Extend the term of office for the Mayor and Commissioners for the Town of Ruth from two years to four years, beginning in 2024.


Election Security
The State and County Boards of Elections are committed to ensuring the safety and security of all voters and the elections process. Find out about the safeguards in place and learn about ways you can help secure North Carolina's Elections.

Where do I Vote Election Day?


1st Tuesday of each month at 10:00 a.m. at the Board of Elections Office. Meetings will only be held if business is scheduled.

UOCAVA Election Notice
Polling Places
Buffer Zones
Elected Officials