Board of Elections

Board of Elections

Hours Monday-Friday
8:30 - 5:00

Physical Address:
298 Fairground Road Spindale, 
NC 28160

Mailing Address:
PO Box 927 Rutherfordton, 
NC 28139

(828)287-6140 Fax

Dawn Lovelace

Board Members:
Frances Lockwood, Chairperson
Gail Parton
Angela Plackis, Secretary
Georgia Steele
Linda Smith

The Rutherford County Board of Elections is the county
agency charged with overall responsibility for
administration of the elections process and campaign
finance disclosure in Rutherford County.
We hope you find this site contains useful information that helps
you take a more informed role in the voting process.

Important Dates to Remember! 
Sample Ballots - Enter your name & year of birth and click search. Click on your name ( in Blue)
and scroll down to SAMPLE BALLOTS.

Click on the sample ballot letter/number (in Blue) for the current election.

General Election 2022 Candidates

General Election 2022 One-stop Schedule

Not sure where your precinct is? 
click here


1st Tuesday of each month at 12:30 p.m. at the Board of Elections Office. Meetings will only be held if business is scheduled.

Important Update on Photo ID

 Until further order of the court, voters are not required to show photo ID. The law was enjoined by a federal district court on December 31, 2019. This page will be updated if new information becomes available.

Voter ID information 

UOCAVA Election Notice
Polling Places
Buffer Zones
Elected Officials